Gregory Carlson Wins Philip B. Fredenburg Memorial Award for Outstanding Service

At NYSASBO’s annual Awards Luncheon on June 6th, Gregory E. Carlson, Assistant Superintendent of Business and Management Services for Byram Hills Central School District, received the Association’s most prestigious honor, the Philip B. Fredenburg Memorial Award for Outstanding Service. This award is given to an individual who, through their actions and achievements has shown a commitment to the advancement of public education and the Association.

During his 25 years as a NYSASBO member and school business official, Mr. Carlson has held many roles within the Association, including Board President, Board Member, and Local Chapter President. In all of these roles, he has truly "advanced the business of education".

The Philip B. Fredenburg Memorial Award for Outstanding Service is generously sponsored by the New York Liquid Asset Fund and was presented by the Past NYSASBO Board Presidents Jenna Bolton, Herb Chessler, Victor Manuel, and Jim Fregelette. Meredith Brosan was also part of the nomination group was unable to attend the ceremony. Mr. Carlson was joined by his daughter Melinda Carlson-Gillette and his sons Geoffrey and Brandon Carlson in celebrating this momentous occasion.

In addition, NYSASBO is proud to announce that beginning in 2018, the Outstanding SBO of the Year Award will be named the Gregory E. Carlson Outstanding SBO of the Year Award.

The award plaque was inscribed with the following:

“You are a thoughtful and committed School Business Official, known for being a dependable and supportive friend and colleague.

You have been a School Business Official for more than 25 years, serving as Assistant Superintendent for Business and Management Services, District Clerk, Deputy Treasurer, Registrar, and Trustee of your district’s Teachers Association.

In your current position as Assistant Superintendent for Business and Management Services, you manage an $88 million budget.

Over your quarter of a century membership in NYSASBO, you served as president of your local chapters, a committee chair, a member of the board of directors, and NYSASBO President.

You have collaborated on multiple NYSASBO publications and presented at NYSASBO and ASBO International conferences. You helped develop NYSASBO’s SBO Evaluation Tool. 

You chaired the NYS Certification Examinations, Assessments Advisory Committee, which helped develop the School District Business Leader examination. 

In 2016 you were elected to the board of directors of NYSIR and this year you were also elected to the board of directors of NYLAF.

When you faced professional challenges no one would ever want to face, you not only handled them with aplomb, but you later shared your experiences with others, teaching them how to protect themselves, ultimately developing the “Professional Assistance Toolkit.”  You also share your story to our Leadership Academy Students each year.

Your friends and colleagues marvel at your willingness to be the first to raise your hand to volunteer. Countless SBOs have benefitted from your commitment to offering mentorship and support to those who are new to the field.   Your work was honored through the George Perry Volunteer Service Award in 2015.

Beyond all of your contributions as an SBO, in perhaps your most noteworthy accomplishment, Ski Magazine rated you as one of the top 100 ski instructors in the country!

Notable Dates & Accomplishments

Elected to the NYLAF Board of Directors - 2017
Elected to the NYSIR Board of Directors – 2016
NYSASBO Membership Committee Chair – 2013-present
George Perry Volunteer Service Award – 2015
NYSASBO President 2010-11
NYSASBO Board of Directors 2006-12
Lower Hudson Chapter President – 2006-07
Certificate in Labor Relations – Contract Administration from Cornell University - 2004
School District Administrator certificate in 2000
School Business Administrator certificate in 1997
Mid-Hudson Chapter President – 1996-97


The other awards presented at the luncheon were:

Past Presidents' Scholarship - Terry Hasseler, Business Administration, Caledonia-Mumford CSD

Outstanding School Business Official of the Year - Suzanne Slack, Chief Financial Officer, Syracuse City SD

Outstanding Superintendent of the Year - Dr. Michael Vallely, Superintendent of Schools, Lancaster CSD

Outstanding School Board Member of the Year - Christine Turner, Board of Education Vice President, Herricks UFSD

Advocate of the Year - Carlos Ramirez, Manager Smart Schools Bond/Acct. Manager, Lower Hudson RIC

New SBO Leader of the Year - Scott Whittemore, Assistant Superintendent for Business, Queensbury UFSD

George A. Perry Volunteer Service Award - Lynn Chase, Director of Management Services, ONC BOCES

Dr. Joan Colvin Starfish Award
 - Richard Cunningham, Assistant Superintendent for Business, Plainview-Old Bethpage CSD


« Back to News